Greetings from the Board of Trustees of St Mary's College.

Our mission: the Mercy tradition of love in action

St Mary's College mission is to provide a Catholic education in the Mercy tradition of love in action, and to prepare students for their role as Christian women in a changing world. The Board of Trustees, as the College's governing body, is committed to promoting the Mercy values of social justice, compassion for others, and the pursuit of excellence in all aspects of school life.

An effective learning environment

We are responsible to the Government and to our school community for ensuring that St Mary's College provides a safe, healthy, and effective learning environment. We have high expectations for all of our students. We endeavour to provide a learning environment which reflects our country's cultural diversity and recognises the unique position of Tangata Whenua. We teach and encourage our students to care for the environment.

Representative of the school community

The members of the Board listed below reflect the makeup of our school community – senior management, staff, students, parents and caregivers, past pupils, and the Sisters of Mercy who own the school.

Subcommittees meet regularly

The Board also operates several subcommittees – Finance, Property, Special Character, Policies, Charter, Personnel, Appointments, Health and Safety – that meet regularly to deal with issues that come within their specific focus. They report to the full Board.

Bring your ideas and feedback

The Board meets once a month. All parents, caregivers and visitors are most welcome. We value ideas, input, feedback, and welcome suggestions, comments, or questions. You may contact the Board by writing to the Chairperson at the school address:

St Mary's College
P.O. Box 47003
Ponsonby, Auckland 1144

BOT Group










(Back Row - Mrs Katie John, Mr Michael Kwok, Mr Patrick Ryan, Mr Arjen van Helsdingen, Mr David Piper, Mr Roly Smoldon, Mrs Fa'aulu Tomuli Liuliu-Afoa)
(Front Row - Miss Franchesca Evangelista, Mrs Bernadette Stockman (Principal), Mr Craig Brownie (Chairman), Ms Rachel Devine Muir, Dr Jo Williams)
(Absent - Mrs Elizabeth Vesty, Miss Sofija Matijasevich)

Our Board of Trustees for 2019 are:

Mr Craig Brownie     Chairman and Parent Trustee
Ms Rachel Devine Muir Parent Trustee
Mr Arjen van Helsdingen Proprietor's Trustee
Mr David Piper Parent Trustee
Mr Michael Kwok Parent Trustee
Mr Roly Smoldon Proprietor's Trustee
Mrs Bernadette Stockman Principal & Trustee
Mrs Fa'aulu Tomuli Liiuliu-Afoa Parent Trustee
Mrs Elizabeth Vesty Parent Trustee & Deputy Chair
Dr Jo Williams Proprietor's Trustee
Miss Sofija Matijasevich Student Trustee
Mrs Suey Bignall Secretary 

2019 Meeting Dates:

Monday 27 May
Monday 24 June
Monday 29 July
Monday 26 August
Monday 23 September
Monday 21 October
Monday 25 November