Greetings from the Board of Trustees of St Mary's College.

Our mission: the Mercy tradition of love in action

St Mary's College mission is to provide a Catholic education in the Mercy tradition of love in action, and to prepare students for their role as Christian women in a changing world. The Board of Trustees, as the College's governing body, is committed to promoting the Mercy values of social justice, compassion for others, and the pursuit of excellence in all aspects of school life.

An effective learning environment

We are responsible to the Government and to our school community for ensuring that St Mary's College provides a safe, healthy, and effective learning environment. We have high expectations for all of our students. We endeavour to provide a learning environment which reflects our country's cultural diversity and recognises the unique position of Tangata Whenua. We teach and encourage our students to care for the environment.

Representative of the school community

The members of the Board listed below reflect the makeup of our school community – senior management, staff, students, parents and caregivers, past pupils, and the Sisters of Mercy who own the school.

Subcommittees meet regularly

The Board also operates several subcommittees – Finance, Property, Special Character, Policies, Charter, Personnel, Appointments, Health and Safety – that meet regularly to deal with issues that come within their specific focus. They report to the full Board.

Bring your ideas and feedback

The Board meets once a month. All parents, caregivers and visitors are most welcome. We value ideas, input, feedback, and welcome suggestions, comments, or questions. You may contact the Board by writing to the Chairperson at the school address:

St Mary's College
P.O. Box 47003
Ponsonby, Auckland 1144

Our Board of Trustees for 2022 are:

Mr Craig Brownie  Chairperson and Parent Trustee
Ms Sarah Dwan Principal and Trustee
Mrs Katie Bhreatnach Proprietor's Trustee
Mrs Vika Fasavalu Parent Trustee
Mrs Connie Fraser Staff Representative 
Mr Frank Godinet Proprietor's Trustee
Mr Ward Kamo Parent Trustee
Ms Shelley Kopu-Masila Parent Trustee
Mr Michael Kwok Parent Trustee
Mrs Shyrelle Mitchell Proprietor's Trustee
Mr Roly Smoldon Proprietor's Trustee
Mr David Yates Parent Trustee
Miss Athena Abrogena Student Representative 
Mrs Sarah Samuels Secretary 


2022 Meeting Dates

21 February

28 March

2 May

23 May

27 June

25 July

22 August

26 Septmeber

25 October

28 November


NB. Meetings begin at 5.30pm

Contact us

Please This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. if you have any questions, comments or feedback.